Very Inspiring Blogger Award

wpid-very-inspiring-blogger-award

Thank you, Martina @ Make, Shake and Bake, for nominating me for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award! This award means so much to me because this was the reason I started blogging in the first place: to inspire others.

To everyone out there struggling with binge eating disorder, I want you to know that you are not alone and that recovery is a real possibility for YOU. To everyone out there without an eating disorder, I hope you have learned through my blog that binge eating disorder is a devastating mental illness that goes beyond gluttony or laziness or a stereotypical image of a fat lady shovelling cake into her mouth.

I’m not perfect. Nowhere near it. I wish I was farther along in my recovery. Sometimes I think that better, stronger people in my position would be farther along, and that every time I put a chocolate bar in my mouth, I am taking one more step away from being the amazing person I could be.

But maybe that’s what makes me inspiring. I haven’t turned into a perpetually upbeat, gluten free, Jillian Michaels workout machine. I never will be that person. I am just a 22 year-old woman trying to make it through law school, begin a successful career, find true love and eventually (hopefully) get married, deal with “fat days”, maintain relationships with family and friends, do something presentable with her hair, keep her finances in check, not buy new shoes every month, look good, and oh yeah, recover from a perplexing and debilitating eating disorder that almost ruined her life.

To accept the Very Inspiring Blogger Award, I’m supposed to list 7 facts about myself, so here goes:

1. If I could eliminate one condiment from the face of this earth for the rest of eternity, it would be mayonnaise. I will not apologize to mayonnaise fans.
2. I actually have an aversion to all creamy white things like ranch dressing and alfredo sauce and sunscreen.
3. On the topic of things I don’t like, I also don’t like juice, smoothies, and anything else in that family. I did when I was a kid, but something must have happened. Maybe I hit my head.
4. Here’s something I do like: I like overcooked eggs. Like scrambled until they’re greyish. With a little bit of soy sauce and sesame oil. That’s my favourite way to have eggs.
5. I loved Barbie dolls when I was younger and I still love browsing through them in toy stores. I know everyone likes to blame them for poor body image in young girls, but I can’t help myself.
6. I have never dyed my hair before. My grandma told me I was old-fashioned because I didn’t want to. (It’s very common for Chinese girls here to dye their hair. I’m pretty sure about 99% do so.)
7. I’ve worn glasses since the 2nd grade but I refuse to wear plastic frames. My parents told me I was old-fashioned because I didn’t want to. (It’s very common for young people here to wear plastic frames if they wear glasses. I’m pretty sure about 99% do so.)

Now I will nominate bloggers who have inspired me:
Marnie @ Sparkleguts: You’re my girl! It blew me away how similar we were in our experiences, and knowing that you understand and support me has definitely helped me in my recovery.
Lori @ Creating Beauty in the Kitchen: Honestly the kindest, most warm-hearted person and the most generous in spirit.
Little Miss Fit: Since recently joining in on the conversation, you’ve already inspired me to push myself harder. I want to make you proud!
The Hungry Mum: Your blog is simply delightful. Everything you make is right up my alley, and your posts remind me of the happy, lighter side of life.

To my nominees, if you’d like to accept the award and pay it forward, you can check out the rules in Martina’s post! I’d like to nominate Martina too, but I think it would kind of defeat the purpose if everyone nominated the people who nominated them, so I’ll introduce you to her fantastic blog instead.

This isn’t a race. A year from now, maybe I will be in the same place. Maybe I will have finally lost some weight! Maybe I will have gained weight. I know where I would like to be, but I don’t know where I’m going. Bringing all of my wonderful readers along for this journey through real life has only made my journey better, so thank you to all of you.

11 thoughts on “Very Inspiring Blogger Award

  1. Awww, Kristen, you big sweetheart! Thank you so much.
    You’re doing amazingly, and you should be really proud of yourself. Every day and experience helps us to know ourselves better. You’re definitely an inspiration, to me and to lots of other readers! Sometimes I get into a funk about my ED and wallow but you spread the message that recovery is achievable, and that’s awesome.
    It is genuinely so nice to have e-met you. My anxiety meant I was always too scared to open up online but I’m so glad I finally did.

    • I went back and forth about starting a blog because I was scared to open up online too! Then I figured, “Hey, what’s the worst thing that can happen? People who I will probably never meet think I’m a slob? So what?” But I’m really glad I decided to because it’s been wonderful e-meeting you too.

  2. First of all, I am RIGHT there with you on mayonnaise, I absolutely HATE it. There is nothing appealing about it! And I really don’t like alfredo sauce either. I will only have ranch dressing if it’s in teeny tiny doses (like something dipped in it with a little smidge bit of it)

    Also, I’ve never had my hair professionally dyed, but I have colored it myself a couple times, out of a box haha. Just not my thing really.

    I hope that I’m not misunderstanding, but did you nominate me? That’s actually a different “Little Miss Fit” that you mentioned, so I just want to be sure. But if it is me, thank you so so much! You are SUCH an inspiration to me, and definitely a motivating factor in me pushing myself forward to try and get out of this binging cycle. I’ve seen that you have come far, and I am hopeful that I can too!

    • I did nominate you! That’s funny – when I click on your username in the emails that WordPress sends me or above your comments, it links to that blog. If you have a different blog, please share the link with me. I would love to read it!

Leave a Reply

