What Will You Regret?

Crow-Sunrise

I recently read this article on the top 5 regrets people make on their deathbed and despite the rather morbid topic, I am truly glad that I read this article. It served as an important reminder that after all is said and done, at the very end of my life, what will I remember? How will I be remembered?

The 5th most common regret was “I wish I had let myself be happier.” This one pierced me right in the heart. I could picture myself lying on my deathbed 60-ish years from now and thinking, “I wish I hadn’t wasted my 20s hating my body. I wish I didn’t spend so much energy and time obsessing about my looks. I wish I had treated myself with respect and loved life more. If I could run, dance, and look like I did in my 20s now, I would feel blessed. I was beautiful.”

At the end of my life, I don’t want to remember struggling with binge eating disorder. I want to remember all of the triumphant achievements, joyful occasions, and wonderful memories that came after. And for that to happen, I cannot let BED and everything it spawned – the self-loathing, the self-consciousness, the guilt and the blame– live on.

I want to remember being happy. Therefore, I need to allow myself to feel happy, no matter how much more successful, healthier, slimmer, prettier, or richer I could possibly be. Please, let yourself be happy too.

Leave a Reply

