SO FAR

70_3_Granel_Boles2

I strongly admire Martha Beck for her wisdom, humour, and insight into human emotions. She is a sociologist, life coach, best-selling author, and speaker who regularly contributes to O, The Oprah Magazine. Here is an excerpt from one of my favourite articles by her.

“The anxiety tugs me toward the fresh brownies in the kitchen…but then I Stop. I Open up. I Forgive myself, Accept the moment, and Renew my commitment to my personal dietary rules (eat only what you truly enjoy, and truly enjoy whatever you eat). The appeal of brownies evaporates. Sure, I could eat the entire pile of them, though I’m not hungry. I could also pack my cheeks with 400 cotton balls. But why would I? It would be pointless, uncomfortable, and funny looking.”

In the full article HERE, she explains how her SO FAR (Stop, Open Up, Forgive, Accept, Renew) method can be used to combat overeating. I highly recommend giving the whole piece a read. Although the SO FAR method hasn’t proved to be an effective way for me to stop a coming-at-a-million-miles-per-hour urge to binge, the last part of the excerpt resonates in my mind when I’m trying to avoid binging out of boredom.

I could buy and eat two pints of Ben & Jerry’s, though I’m not hungry. But why would I? It would be pointless, uncomfortable, and funny looking.

Leave a Reply

