“I Don’t Have Time”

the-melting-watch

Making the decision to seek counselling was very difficult for me – in my mind, it meant admitting failure, admitting that I couldn’t solve my own problems, admitting that there was something “wrong” with me, admitting that I wasn’t strong-willed enough to stop binging, and so forth. So over and over again, I told myself that I didn’t have time.

Spare time truly is scarce in law school, with readings, papers, CAN-ning, and extracurricular activities or part-time work taking up the bulk of your time. What precious little time is left usually goes toward being with your significant other, friends, or family. But the fact of the matter is that if you have time to binge, then you have time to go to counselling.

My daily binges typically totalled about an hour or two of non-stop eating every day. But the biggest time-sucker was the 4 hours after every binge during which I was too physically and emotionally overwhelmed to do anything productive at all. That means I was wasting at least 35 hours every week (it was almost always much more than this).

If you replace one binge every week with one counselling session, that already gives you 4 more hours of free time! And over time, as counselling helps you reduce your weekly binges, you’ll be blown away by how much more spare time you’ll have for yourself (not to mention how much better you’ll feel).

The longer you wait to get help, the longer your recovery will be. I really, really wish I realized this sooner. Once binging becomes an ingrained habit and part of your regular routine, it is SO much harder to stop. From a neurological perspective, binging is now your go-to coping system, a powerful reward, a proven boredom killer, and just about your answer to everything.

You will have time. Trust me. You will make it to counselling if you try, and the structure of your routine and your world will not collapse.

So the next time you think taking care of the kids, buying groceries, working overtime, reading an extra subject, and running errands means you don’t have time for counselling, just remember: the longer you wait to get help, the longer your recovery will be. You will lose a lot more of your life in the long run by not taking a little time to get help now.

Leave a Reply

